Married People Problems

It’s one of those sleepless, lay-here-musing-until-I-decide-to-do-something-about-it nights.

First off, I love being married. My person is my best friend and always does his best to take care of me in any way he can. I don’t know how I ever lived without him.

Yet…since I’ve been married, I’ve begun to feel more and more isolated. It has nothing to do with lack of spousal attention. For all I know, my person feels this way, too. It’s more about…entering this married world where it appears that most other young people are really just concerned with spending time with their spouse. Which is great, don’t get me wrong. I love being with my person. But…we aren’t just couple creatures. We’re family beings. We need each other, we need socialization.

So…I know this issue exists. I’ve talked with other young wives who feel the same way. We’ve lamented to each other about our mutual lack of friends and group time (or call it girl time). But…none of us has done anything about it. We’ve ranted, then gone our separate ways. I don’t have any idea why. It makes no sense. Somehow, in the process of entering married life, we’ve all neglected life outside of the couple world and forgotten how to just make friends.

I know a lot of it has to do with the fact that we all have this one best friend now…This is a connection I won’t ever have with anyone else, and I don’t want to. But, no matter how hard they try, spouses can’t fulfill every need. Am I making any sense here? I guess what I’m saying is, we married people still need friends. Not just to see in class or in church, or occasionally at the grocery store. Real, true, close friends we can count on. But…I guess I don’t really know how to make friends as a couple.

Any advice?

Leave a Reply

