Successful Nursing

My sister shared an article with me recently called “How to Succeed at Breastfeeding Without Really Trying” (it’s from the Whole Mothering Center, a non-for-profit based out of Texas). Here’s a link to the article:

http://wholemotheringcenter.org/2014/08/28/how-to-succeed-at-breastfeeding-without-really-trying/

I really like the message it sends. It’s how I’ve, unwittingly, tried to breastfeed Quinn. Sometimes it IS tempting to second guess myself and worry. Why isn’t she eating often? Why is she eating SO often? Is she eating enough?? So many doubts. We’ve gone through phases where Quinn will cry when my milk lets down and refuse to relatch. I’ve finally come to the conclusion that it’s probably because my flow was SO heavy that she can’t handle it. For a while there our feedings were only about 20 or 30 seconds long at a time. And there was this little voice in the back of my mind that questioned whether or not she was getting enough to eat at that rate. BUT I did my best to ignore it. The rational me knew that if she weren’t eating enough she wouldn’t be gaining weight as well as she is, and she would be MUCH fussier.

Basically, when it comes to breastfeeding, our momma doubts abound. Heaven forbid we moms do something RIGHT in our minds. But, like the article says, “More than likely, things are normal…so normal.” Of course, there is always something to be said for mother’s intuition. But often, especially with our first baby, we tend to psych ourselves out. When in doubt, I’ve found it’s so helpful to reach out for support to women who have been through all of this before, and who can reassure me.

Fellow mommas, we can do this! Breastfeeding is hard. It’s killer, sometimes. At first it’s painful and half the time we have no idea what we’re doing. BUT our bodies were also made to feed our little ones. Isn’t it amazing that we can sustain another human being for up to a whole YEAR alone on what our body produces?! Our society treats nursing as a taboo topic sometimes, but let me tell ya. I think it’s a miraculous blessing.

And honestly, this is my favorite part about nursing. The closeness with my little babe.

photo

Leave a Reply

